New members of the Lincoln Academy Chapter of the National Honor Society are, back row from left: Sepp Zammuto, Kellen Adickes, Elias Bassett, AJ Giberson, Lily Rosa, Anna Lupien, Stella Maris Field, London Hunter, Jasper New. Middle row from left: Amara Johnderson, Nandor Gero, Peter Thelander, Sophie Yates-Paul, Tessa McNamara, Emma Castonia, Olive Seigel, Lila Drewes, Noa Burchesky, Eren Aybas, Ella Pendleton, Jacqueline Pelletier, and Lily Swanburg. Front row from left: Sophia Scott, Dylan Burmeister, Mariana Janik, Lillian Powell, Layla Musial, McKenna Dunstan, Zofie Day, Gabe Hanley, Flora Angyl, Emma Abbott, and Coco Sanchez.

On Monday, January 22, Lincoln Academy inducted 29 new members into the LA chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS).

LA’s NHS chapter is advised by English teacher John Cannon. Four senior officers of the club: Kayla Cruz, Lucy White, Audrey Hufnagel, and Nick Russ, led the ceremony, which celebrates the NHS values of scholarship, leadership, character, and service. Social Studies Department Chair Brian O’Mahoney was selected by the inductees to deliver remarks.

To be selected for the National Honor Society, students must fill out an application, meet rigorous academic requirements, be recommended by faculty, and fulfill community service requirements.

As part of the ceremony, each inductee chose an adult in the community: teacher, coach, or family member, to present them with their National Honor Society pin and a rose. Head of School Jeffrey Burroughs gave closing remarks welcoming the new members.

The 2024 Inductees to the LA Chapter of the NHS are seniors Emma Abbott,Flora Angyal, Eren Aybas, Nandor Gero, Jasper New, Jacqueline Pelletier, Ella Pendleton, Coco de Dios Sanchez, Lily Swanberg, and Sepp Frost Zammuto, and juniors Kellen Adickes, Elias Bassett, Noa Burchesky, Dylan Burmeister, Emma Castonia, Zofie Day, Lila Drewes, Makenna Dunstan, Stella Maris Field, AJ Giberson, Gabriel Hanley, London Hunter, Mariana Janik, Amara Johnderson, Anna Lupien, Tessa McNamara, Layla Musial, Lillian Powell, Lilly Rosa, Sophia Suzanne Scott, Olive Louise Siegel, Peter Thelander, and Sophie Yates-Paul.

LA’s second-year NHS members attended the ceremony. They are: Gavin Albert, Baylie Anastasio, Violet Bailey, Mya Bessey, William Clark, Kayla Cruz, Kaydence DiMauro, Eli Farrin, Kendra Gladu, Conor Glasier, Gabriel Hagar, Mica Houghton, Audrey Hufnagel, Natalie Kaler, Abigail Kopp. Dana Da-Gyeong Lee, Lindsey Powell, Nicholas Russ, Matthew Savage, Rath Schoenthal, Jonas Stepanauskas, Marley Storer, Mitchell Straus, Drew Theriault, and Lucy White.

See more photos on the LA Flickr page.